USL remains unscathed, breaks down SLC-SFLU in CICM Schools Debate Competition

Jensen Paul Danao and Kristelle Leigh Reyes

After gaining four straight wins, University of Saint Louis (USL) Tuguegarao was hailed overall champion overthrowing Saint Louis College, San Fernando City La Union (SLC-SFLU) in the championship round of the 5th CICM Schools Friendship Meet Debate Competition on Saturday, Feb. 13, 2016.

The debate championship match revolved around the motion “This house resolves that there should be Educational Requirement for Presidency” where SLC-SFLU played as the Government side and USL as Opposition.

A five-minute suspension was made for the adjudicators to convene and to choose between the two parameters set for the final debate when the Government side delimited the scope and the parameter in the Democratic Republic of Congo just as when the Opposition decided to challenge the parameter and put it in the Philippine setting.

At the end, the Opposition side’s proposal was used, and both teams were given a maximum of 15 minutes to prepare for the match.

The Government side was played by SLC-SFLU debaters John Carlo Manabat, Christopher Maynes and Jestherin Baliton while the Opposition was composed of USL’s Jervie Gumatay, Louise Claire Dela Cruz and Roel Bacud.

Gumatay was awarded both as the Best Speaker and the Best Debater during the said match and USL as the Best Debating Team with a split decision.

Asian Parliamentary Form of debate was used and was participated by the four CICM schools particularly USL, SLC-SFLU, Saint Mary’s University Bayombong (SMU), and Saint Louis University, Baguio City (SLU).

Share via Facebook     Share via Google+     Tweet